

# **ESC BOARD** 2020-2022

President Stephan Achenbach

Past-President Barbara Casadei

President-Elect Franz Weidinger

Secretary/Treasurer Thomas Lüscher

Vice-Presidents Francesco Cosentino Silvia Priori Petar Seferovic

Advisors Heinrich Kolem Anis Nassif Jonathan Sellors

### Councillors

Stefan Agewall Lina Badimon Victoria Delgado Dan Gaita Massimo Piepoli Susanna Price

# **Association Presidents**

ACNAP Lis Neubeck ACVC Christian Hassager EACVI Bernard Cosyns EAPC Martin Halle EAPCI Dariusz Dudek EHRA Christophe Leclercq HFA Andrew Coats

#### **Ex-Officio Committee Chairs**

Advoca Hugo Katus Clinical Practice Guidelines **Colin Baigent** Communication **Carlos Aguiar** ogramme onaress Stephan Windecker Education Susanna Price FORP Bogdan Popescu Global Affa **Diederick Grobbee** Membershi Paulus Kirchhof ublications Tomasz Guzik Research and Grants Stefanie Dimmeler Young Cardiovascular Professionals Allan Böhm

Chief Executive Officer Isabel Bardinet

Chief Financial Officer Nathalie Lefebvre

Board Secretary Marina Ximeris European Heart House, 9 March 2022

Dear Colleagues,

It is with utmost concern that we all witness the current crisis in the heart of Europe. Our support and sympathy is with our colleagues in Ukraine, their families, and the entire population. The ESC, throughout its 70 years of existence, has remained fully committed to scientific and educational co-operation independent of geographical borders and political systems. We are and continue to be unified by our collective aim to reduce the burden of cardiovascular disease.

However, after careful deliberation and discussion in the Board, and in the light of continued aggression against one of our member countries, Ukraine, by the leaderships of the Russian Federation and Belarus, the ESC has temporarily suspended the memberships of the Russian Society of Cardiology (RSC) and the Belarussian Society of Cardiologists (BSSC). Also, individuals based in the Russian Federation or in Belarus are currently "excluded from active participation in any ESC event or activity", such as presenter or chairperson roles in ESC congresses.

Importantly, this does not prevent access to educational material, journals, guidelines and any other information and guidance that the ESC disseminates.

Please let us emphasize that this extraordinary measure is not at all directed against cardiologists, scientists, and other ESC members from the Russian Federation or Belarus. They are not to blame for the war. They are our friends and colleagues in the fight against cardiovascular disease.

However, the international community had no choice but to use widespread isolation to deter further aggression by the political leadership of the Russian Federation and Belarus. Isolation of the aggressors includes economic sanctions, exclusion from sporting competitions, cancellation of cultural events, and the termination of scientific collaborations. Sanctions need to be as comprehensive as possible in order to be effective. In this context, the ESC sees the temporary suspension of RSC and BSSC as a necessary measure in a desperate attempt to stop the bloodshed in Ukraine by signalling international condemnation and adding pressure on political leadership in Russia and Belarus.

The ESC very much regrets the impacts of its decision on our cardiology colleagues and friends in the affected countries. However, collectively we continue to hope for rapid resolution of the conflict and peace to be restored, whereupon there would be no need to sustain any measures.

Our mission: To reduce the burden of cardiovascular disease.

Headquarters: The European Heart House - Les Templiers - 2035, Route des Colles - CS 80179 BIOT - 06903 Sophia Antipolis Cedex - France Tel. +33 (0)4 92 94 76 00 - www.escardio.org

SOCIETE EUROPEENNE DE CARDIOLOGIE Association loi 1901 - Déclaration du 08/04/1992 Nº 1/10006 J.O. Nº 18 du 29/04/1992 - SIREN 403 299 480 Association immatriculée au registre des opérateurs de voyages nº IM006110075



# ESC BOARD 2020-2022

President Stephan Achenbach

Past-President Barbara Casadei

President-Elect Franz Weidinger

Secretary/Treasurer Thomas Lüscher

**Vice-Presidents** Francesco Cosentino Silvia Priori Petar Seferovic

**Advisors** Heinrich Kolem Anis Nassif Jonathan Sellors

### Councillors

Stefan Agewall Lina Badimon Victoria Delgado Dan Gaita Massimo Piepoli Susanna Price

### **Association Presidents**

ACNAP Lis Neubeck ACVC Christian Hassager EACVI Bernard Cosyns EAPC Martin Halle EAPCI Dariusz Dudek EHRA Christophe Leclercq HFA Andrew Coats

# **Ex-Officio Committee Chairs**

Advocad Hugo Katus **Clinical Practice Guidelines Colin Baigent** Communication **Carlos Aguiar** rogramme ongress l Stephan Windecker Education Susanna Price EORP Bogdan Popescu Global Affa Diederick Grobbee Membership Paulus Kirchhof Publications Tomasz Guzik Research and Grants Stefanie Dimmeler Young Cardiovascular Professionals Allan Böhm

Chief Executive Officer Isabel Bardinet

Chief Financial Officer Nathalie Lefebvre

Board Secretary Marina Ximeris

Our mission: To reduce the burden of cardiovascular disease.

Headquarters: The European Heart House - Les Templiers - 2035, Route des Colles - CS 80179 BIOT - 06903 Sophia Antipolis Cedex - France Tel. +33 (0)4 92 94 76 00 - www.escardio.org

The ESC has always emphasised unity across political systems and geographic borders. This unity is not sacrificed and will never be. It remains the priority. However, sanctions are the only measures the ESC can contribute towards ending the war and the loss of lives, health, and humanity that will occur every day as long as the war continues.

On behalf of the ESC Board Stephan Achenbach